Home » My Business Thoughts » Social Media Marketing – What the heck is it?

Social Media Marketing – What the heck is it?

Understanding social media can be confusing especially if you are into traditional marketing| Bogdan Fiedur

I had started to write a post about something totally different when I saw a comment made at Adlandpro that made me pause and realize a startling fact, while all the social media savvy people are talking about social media or social marketing with know hows and how to’s, there are many  people who really do not understand why social media/marketing is important to their business.

Most of my members are folks who grew up and came online during a time where throwing out links was the thing to do and it was a numbers game. Their focus is unbelievable by the way and if nothing else I would say to those who are experienced in social media, that we could learn a thing or two about having passion, determination and a consistency because these men and women have been doing their “form” of marketing day after day, year after year.

I know for myself, this social media stuff has been a learning curve, trying to figure it out, what it really means and like many of my members, the goal has always been about getting the sale, getting paying customers and what the heck does social have to do with anything?

So what is social media marketing? After thinking long and hard about it here is my definition:

Social media marketing is getting people from all walks of life in all the different social venues a way to see my business – to see me! When I talk to people about anything, then people are getting to know what I am about, my credentials if you will and I am exposing my business to the world -> this gets people interested ( I hope) with what I am offering and if people like what I am saying and doing, then people will want to join or buy the services I offer.

To further that thought when I talk to  people who are interested in what I offer ( like-minded) and show them with words and images that I am a human being, that I am interested in many things, when I share with people everything from humor, to interesting stories that will hopefully help them in whatever they are doing, then an amazing thing happens -> people come to me and over the last month or so, I am finding that this works -> traffic to Adlandpro is rising, people are interested in what the business is about and people to want to pay for the services that Adlandpro is offering.

quote by Miki Strong regarding Social media

I don’t have all the answers by the way, I am still a novice when it comes to social media, but I will leave you with this one thought –  If I can get people to like my page, like my tweet, like what I am offering just by talking to people, sharing good content, helping solve a problem and it comes back to me  with the Karma of people buying my product, then I will say to you – Social Media Rocks!

5 Comments

  1. lisanoon says:

    Good post Bogdan…It’s really all about outcomes, whether it’s a discussion about Social Media, Cloud, Mobile or heck just about anything you can exploit to power a business toward a goal. In my consulting I find every day clients, smart clients, who are too focused on specific tools and gadgets rather than on what they are trying to accomplish – and why they are having the discussion in the first place. We all need to guide folks back toward objectives, and help clients form them in a way that is measurable. Much better chance for success, not to mention a happy client.

    • I agree it is about outcomes, but I have noticed that when you have worked with marketing for years and years, understanding such things as social media can be very confusing and can you believe, many people still think social is a fad? Most of the members on Adlandpro are hard working people and they are incredibly focused, but I feel it is time to help them learn that social is here to stay and we all need to learn the ins and outs of social media marketing without doing what many are doing..using old fashioned marketing of sell sell sell and losing every day.
      Thank you for your thoughts and as I seem to say a lot these days..I am learning something new 🙂

  2. […] I had started to write a post about something totally different when I saw a comment made at Adlandpro that made me pause and realize a startling fact, while all the social media savvy people are t…  […]

  3. Ken Wolff says:

    Great blog post Bogdan! We are all learning the meaning of Social Media Marketing and how to best use it in our primary businesses. What seems to be the important part is the first word Social in attracting people to your business. It is in getting to know others and what their needs and wants are. The more emphasis we put on our needs -> like getting people to buy what we are selling<- the less attractive we become. The new tools in Social Media Marketing provide us an opportunity to meet new people. The success comes in developing relationships, follow-up and consistent communication..

Leave a Reply

